Veggie Week Part 1: Recipes Reaped

Food1My carnivore husband was out of town for two weeks recently, and I set myself the wonderful challenge of going fully vegetarian while he was away.  As I explained in Semi-Non-Practicing Vegetarian, I still eat some poultry and some seafood, and when I cook dinner for the two of us, I don’t often get to go completely vegetarian, and I can never even suggest vegan. (Oh, the humanity!) So I saw these two weeks as my golden opportunity to attempt to make the switch complete for myself at least.  Half the recipes I tried were ones I found on Pinterest that looked interesting, and the other half were ones I made up.  In this first post are the recipes I harvested from others’ blogs.  Click on the titles above the pictures to follow the links to the recipes.  My second “Veggie Week” post will be all my own original recipes!

Grilled Eggplant, Squash, Tomato, and Halloumi with Mint Dressing

Grilled eggplant, summer squash, tomato, and halloumi with mint dressing.

Tweaks:

  • The recipe only calls for tomatoes and eggplant, but I added some yellow summer squash, which was great.  It added a sturdier texture to balance out how squishy the eggplant and tomato get after grilling.  You could also use zucchini.
  • I used more mint than parsley, though the recipe calls for an equal amount of both.
  • I grilled the tomato and squash on a foil grill pan, because both would have fallen through the grill grate, the tomato because it’s too liquidy and the squash because the rounds were too small.
  • Halloumi is a Greek cheese, less crumbly and pungent than feta.  It lends itself spectacularly to grilling because of its firm texture.  It’s not terribly difficult to find, but probably won’t be at a Wal-Mart-type store; you’ll need to go up a few notches, but it is locatable, especially in the summer.
  • You can make this dish VEGAN by eliminating the cheese (but oh man, why would you want to?)

Zucchini “Noodles” in a Creamy Avocado Sauce

Zucchini "noodles" in a creamy avocado sauce with roasted red peppers.

Tweaks:

  • The recipe calls for this “pasta” to be garnished with sliced raw cherry tomatoes, but I hate raw tomatoes, so I garnished mine with chunks of roasted red pepper.  You could do raw red pepper if you wanted more crunch.  Totally up to you.
  • I peeled my cucumber before adding it to the sauce, although it’s not specified.
  • I used coconut milk, not almond milk.
  • This dish is VEGAN.

Breakfast Pizza with Avocado Mash and Sunny-Side Up Egg

Breakfast pizza with avocado mash and sunny-side up egg.

No tweaks to this one except portioning for one person instead of four.

Linguine in a Roasted Red Pepper-Goat Cheese Alfredo Sauce

Linguine in a roasted red pepper-goat cheese Alfredo sauce.

Tweaks:

  • I always roast my red peppers by cutting them in half, scooping out the seeds, laying the cut side down on a foil-lined sheet, rubbing the skins with a touch of olive oil, and then broiling them on high for about 12-15 minutes, until the skins are all black.  When I take them out of the oven I put them in a bowl and cover them to steam for a few minutes; this helps loosen the skins further.  In this recipe, she says you should roast the peppers whole, without even removing the seeds, which I find bizarre.  To me that would be like dicing an onion before removing the skin, but whatever.  Roast how you please.
  • I used plain goat cheese and it was fine.
  • I’ve never added artichoke hearts to this dish.

Fresh Corn and Roasted Poblano Pizza with Goat Cheese and Arugula

Fresh corn and roasted poblano pepper pizza garnished with goat cheese and arugula salad.

Tweaks:

  • I used plain white pizza dough.
  • I used much less crème fraiche and goat cheese than the recipe called for.  An individual pizza for one person needs no more than two tablespoons of crème fraiche, and I only used one and a half ounces of goat cheese on mine.
  • Instead of charring the peppers over an open flames, I just roasted them in the oven as I explained in the last recipe.
  • You can use lemon juice if you don’t have a lime handy for the arugula salad.
Leave a Reply

